Contemporary / Contemporary / Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

TITLE: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)
AUTHOR: Stephanie Perkins
PUBLISHED BY: Speak
RELEASE DATE: December 2, 2010
EBOOK: 264 pages
GENRE: Contemporary
FOLLOWED BY: Lola and the Boy Next Door

SYNOPSIS: Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. She is less than thrilled about boarding school in Paris – until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, he has it all – including a serious girlfriend. Will Anna get her French kiss?

(4.7 stars)

(4.7 stars)

REVIEW:

Theme:
I would have to say the theme is self-love and self-reliance. When Anna is forced to move  to Paris, she is devastated and feels uncomfortable. It actually reminded me of myself when I moved to Asia and felt like an outcast,  being the only African American at my school. While Anna begins to make friends and realizes she is not the only one with family problems and problems in general, she begins to accept her differences that make her who she is.

Character:
Anna→ the story is told in first POV. I love how Stephanie Perkins described how Anna was feeling when she moved. Explaining why she didn’t want to go out and explore Paris by herself and why she was afraid of ordering her lunch on her own. It made her character feel realistic.

Etienne St. Clair→ I love how St. Clair is like an anchor for Anna  while she is adjusting to her new environment. He makes her feel welcomed  and finds ways to make her feel comfortable. Throughout the book, you see his relationship with Anna progress as they become closer and, to me, its different and a more realistic story compared to other novels.

Plot:
At the beginning of the book, the first two chapters didn’t really “wow” me the way I thought it would. It was pretty slow and felt like it was going nowhere. I wasn’t sucked in like I wanted to be. When I continued reading, I considered giving up on the book, but after reading a quarter of the novel, that is when my interest finally perked up. Friendship, relationship, and family problems are all within this novel.

Style & Setting:
Perkins writing style is different and original.  There wasn’t much foreshadowing with events, but the humor within the dialogue  made it fun and interesting to read. There was quite a few history telling within this novel as well. I also like how Perkins showed the difference between the environment of Paris and the USA. You actually felt like you were in  another country.

This was a relaxing read, and I enjoyed it because it felt like I was taking a break from all the non-stop, action-packed novels I have been reading lately. I was able to sit and enjoy a nice story of a boy and girl slowly falling in love.

Lesson Learned? To love yourself and accept that change is okay.

Rating:
Book Cover: 0
Character Development/Plot: 3 out of 3
Interest: .7 out of 1
Imagery: 1 out of 1
Total: 4.7 stars

**Looking for a relaxing, romance novel after experiencing a complex, action-packed, or emotional book? Then I Recommend you  give this book a read.

**Spoiler Content Ahead. The Five Things I loved about this novel:

Five things I love about  Anna and the French Kiss
1.) How Anna and St. Clair become best friends
2.) How it took Anna and St. Clair almost a whole year fall in love, instead of a few weeks or months like other novels.
3.) The problems each character faces.
4.) How St. Clair overcame his fears of heights to declare is love to Anna! (That was so sweet and funny)
5.) The funny dialogue.

I would love to here a few things you enjoyed about the book. Comment below. 🙂

Leave a Comment

