Dystopian / Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1)

TITLE: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1)Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
AUTHOR: Veronica Rossi
PUBLISHED: ATOM
DATE RELEASED:  January 3, 2012
PAPERBACK: 384 pages
GENRE: Dystopian
FOLLOWED BY: Through the Ever Sky

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS: WORLDS KEPT THEM APART.

DESTINY BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER.

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers.

(4.1 stars)

(4.1 stars)

REVIEW:  Lately, I haven’t been giving books much credit before I read them. I  always think, “eh. this sounds alright. Why did I even want to read this book? It sounds kinda boring.” But after reading this book, I’m like,”Wow! That was just too good! I see why I wanted to read it. smh” Although the book was kind of  hard to get into at the beginning, it still kept my interest once the two characters, Aria and Perry met up.

this book is written in third person and we are in the heads of Aria and Perry.

Aria→ Aria was kind of annoying and boring at the beginning. But I guess it wasn’t her fault. It was the way she grew up which made her that way. Her determination is admirable, and further along in the story, she grows on me and is now one of my favorite characters. Her curiosity and interest in everything is funny at times and her relationship with Perry and Roar are  adorable.

Perry→He’s snarky and ill-mannered. I love the vulnerable side of Perry the most. It shows that we all have weaknesses and a vulnerable side. He struggles with finding the right words to express himself and I just love that about his character; his imperfections. His character grows in the book as well; having a more open mind towards others that are not his kind. His character has a good sense of humor sometimes but not as much as his buddy, Roar. 🙂

Roar→ i love Roar’s sly, funny and flirty nature. He interested me when I read his POV in Roar and Liv: An Under the Never Sky Story #.5. I couldn’t wait to meet his character in this book.

All the characters voices are distinctive from each other . I wish I felt more emotion for the characters though. I love the world in this book. It seems to be a mixture of the modern and a traditional lifestyle. But a background about  its past would have been interesting. I wouldn’t mind knowing what happened in the past that  turned the world upside down.  The Aethers they described almost seem like an alien invasion to me.

Throughout this book, I found myself so absorbed in its world that I would read for hours, forgetting about going to bed. And you know when you say, “Oh, I’ll finish this chapter and then head to bed.” Ha…..😐 That didn’t happen with this book. I completely forgot about sleep after reading each chapter. I was end too deep. So with that, I would recommend this book. 🙂

Lesson Learned? Even though your world may be turned upside down,  you can still fight through life difficulties and overcome your pain, weaknesses, and fears.

*Recommended 

Rating:
Book Cover: .5
Character Development& Plot: 2.5 out of 3
Interest: .7 out of 1
Imagery: .4 out of 1
Total: 4.1 stars

Leave a Comment

