Jennifer L. Armentrout / Science Fiction / Urban Fantasy & Paranormal Romance

Obsidian (A Lux Novel, Book One) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux #1)TITLE: Obsidian
AUTHOR: Jennifer L. Armentrout
PUBLISHER: Entangled Teen
RELEASE DATE: 8 May 2012
PAPERBACK: 335 pages
GENRE: Science Fiction / Urban Fantasy
PRECEDED BY:  Shadows (Lux # 0.5)
FOLLOWED BY: Onyx (Lux #2)

SYNOPSIS:
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.
(Source: Goodreads)

5+ starsREVIEW:

I don’t even know where to start with this book…..Obsidian….man…Obsidian is the best book I’ve read in 2014 so far! I love it! Like man, I couldn’t put this book down! After hearing so many people rave on and on about this book, I finally got a copy (after waiting two months to find one) and was able to sit down and read it! After reading the first chapter, it didn’t take me long to realize that I was going to be hooked and attached to this book until the end! I was all smiles; laughing and shaking my head at the things the characters were doing. The two main characters are hilarious…and its true when they say there is a thin line between love and hate…Katy and Daemon show this statement perfectly!

Theme:
Family, Love, Trust

Plot:
Three years after Katy’s father dies of cancer, her mom decides its time to move from Florida and start over. When they move to a small town in West Virigina, Katy meets her next door neighbors–the Blacks. Both kids are extremely gorgerous. The daughter, Dee Black, is super nice and bubbly and the son, Daemon Black,…well…he’s a bit of a jerk.

After Katy realizes what a complete “dickhead” he is, Katy does everything she can to try to stay away from him. But when she sees Daemon stop time with just a flick of his finger, Katy begins glowing and discovers she is living right next door to aliens. Now that Deamon has lit Katy up like the Fourth of July, Daemon has to stay near Katy to protect her from the evil aliens.

Characters:
Daemon→I love him, I love him, I LOVE HIM! *squeals* He is soo different from any character I have ever read and I love that! It was good to read a different type of personality. I want a Daemon Black! lol…Did I say how much I love this guy?

Katy→She’s the main character and reading the story from her first point of view. She’s awesome…She’s a booklover so of course I automatically loved her.

Dee→ Dee (Daemon’s sister) is so sweet and compassionate! I love her character. I can’t see anyone not liking her.

Style/Setting:
Obsidian is set in Ketterman, West Virgina. When I first heard this book was about aliens..I was like “What? I don’t want to read about a bunch of aliens. Like, ew!” But after hearing so many praises about this book. I had to give it a try. The synopsis already had me hooked…it was just the alien part that was weirding me out. And man, I don’t regret picking up this series. I am seriously and dangerously in love with the Lux Series.

Jennifer L. Armentrout came up with a few of her own terminology:

  • Luxen: the good aliens who have power.
  • Arum: the evil aliens
  • Lux: alien planet where Dee and Daemon are from.

Forget everything you know about aliens. Luxens aren’t green weird-looking aliens. They are something extremely beautiful and unique. Armentrout did a great job coming up with how they should look in their true form. All of her ideas are great. This is a series I’m sure anyone would love to read. The humor and serious scenes are a great balanace and it leaves you on the edge of your seat, always wanting more.

 

As I write this review, I have already finished the first two installments (Obsidian and Onyx) about ehh…two weeks ago…and ugh..I am so missing the characters and this world. My mom has finished the first four installments before me! (I refuse to read the third and fourth as ibooks like she did, so I’m waiting to purchase the third and fourth) and whenever I see her laughing at something that I don’t know anything about, it makes me miss the world even more. This is a definite TO-BE-READ book…Please Please Please whoever is reading this, put this book in your to-be-read list NOW! You won’t regret it! (If you do, sorry..but I’m sure you wont 🙂 ).

Lesson Learned? That aliens can be hot and sexy!! ah hahahahahha 😉

**Highly Recommended like OMG!!!

Rating:
Book Cover: .5
Character Development/Plot: 3 out of 3
Interest:  1 out of 1
Imagery: 1 out of 1
Total: 5+ stars

alexis

Follow on Bloglovin

Are you interested in Sci-Fi?

 

4 thoughts on “Obsidian (A Lux Novel, Book One) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer (2014) | Check My Books

  2. Pingback: Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Check My Books

  3. Pingback: Opal (A Lux Novel, Book Three) by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Check My Books

  4. Pingback: Shadows (Lux # 0.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Check My Books

Leave a Comment

