Contemporary / Contemporary / Lacey Weatherford/ Sydney Snow

Chased Dreams (Chasing Nikki #3) by Lacey Weatherford

Chased Dreams (Chasing Nikki #3)TITLE: Chased Dreams
AUTHOR: Lacey Weatherford
PUBLISHER: Moonstruck Media
RELEASE DATE: 25 May 2014
EBOOK: 213 pages
GENRE: Contemporary 
PRECEDED BY: Finding Chase

SYNOPSIS:
Dreams of the future, dreams of love and happiness, dreams of being able to move on and get past the heartache that still resides in his soul, Chase Walker believes things are finally starting to look up.

But are they really?

When Chase suffers a devastating injury on the football field, his life is thrown into a tailspin once again. Feeling like he’s lost his identity, he struggles with keeping his relationship with Brittney from falling apart, while also trying to find out who he really is inside.

But when dreams from the past resurface, causing old feelings to rise anew and clash with the life he’s living now, Chase is left to wonder if all he has is Chased Dreams.
(Source: Goodreads)

4.5 stars

4.5 stars

REVIEW:
I don’t even know where to begin with this book. It literally made me upset and tear up.

Chasing Nikki has just turned the tables on me and the title, Chasing Nikki just got a whole new meaning! Even though I was upset, I couldn’t seem to put the freakin’ book down. I love it and I hate it all at the same time. ❤

Theme:
Life, choices, dreams, love

Plot:
Chase Walker will always remember Nikki. Now that Chase and Brittney are married, they are ready to start their life together. Freshly out of college, Chase suffers from an injury during NFL football tryouts. This takes Chase down another spiral and puts a strain on his marriage with Brittney. Without football, Chase feels lost and doesn’t know who he is and what he should do with his life.

When dreams and thoughts of Nikki begin to surface more and more, Chase begins to wonder if he can even move on with this life without being pulled back by his past pain and heartache.

Characters:
Chase→ Chase puts himself down too much. I love the guy and I understand him; but stop thinking so negatively. Chase is a great guy though and is always trying to do what is right; putting others before himself. I love that about him.

Brittney→ I like Brittney. At first, I didn’t like her because she was taking the place of Nikki, but now I like her. She’s sweet, helpful, thoughtful, and understanding. She tries to do what is best for Chase no matter how he may be treating her.

Nikki→ Oh, Nikki. Chase and his thoughts of you. We will always remember you and love you.

Style/Setting:
First point of view in the eyes of Chase Walker himself. 🙂 State: Arizona.

Lacey Weatherford really does have a way with words. I love her writing sytle and how she puts life lessons throughout the book.

I’m actually a little disappointed about the turn of events that has happened in this sereis. Weatherford has been playing with my heart throughout this series…my emotions *cries softly* ohh, the agony! Just thinking about it makes me sad. 😦 ❤ </3

Overall,  I think I like the ending (ha!). I mean, the third book took me by surprise so I’m so…conflicted. Like, I like the ending and then I don’t. Ugh. Wow, I read this novel two months ago and I’m still feeling emotional about the whole thing. lol is that a problem?

I was really heartbroken when I found out Nikki had died, and now…gosh….the ending of this book just messed my heart up even more.

It played with my emotions mann…I cried in all three books; too much pain.

Anways, if your reading this series, continue reading it. This is a great series. I don’t regret picking up the first book in this series and I’m glad I read the whole series.

I really wish I could say more, but I can’t. I’m just at a loss for words.

I have mix emotions about the end of this series that I don’t even kow what to rate it… 😦

Lesson Learned?  Chase your dreams 

**Recommended** I don’t even know if I want anyone else going through this confusion and pain that I went through 😦 

Rating:
Book Cover: 0
Character Development/Plot: 2.6 out of 3
Interest: .9 out of 1
Imagery: 1 out of 1
Total: 4.5 stars

**A few of my favorite quotes from Chased Dreams (Chasing Nikki #3).**

“How do you expect to get past your pain if all you do is hold it in and use it as an excuse to lash out at others?”– Brittney to Chase

“I can say this thought. You’re a hell of an athlete, and one of the best leaders I’ve ever seen on the field. You’re good at making quick choices, but I think you make decisions based on what other people are doing more than what is best for you. I’ve watched when you were supposed to hand the ball off and kept it because you saw your teammate wasn’t ready. You’d keep the ball and take the hit, ending up flat on your back. It takes true guts to do that, but I think when it coems to life, maybe you should start making some decisions based on what Chase needs—not on what everyone else needs. Start thinking about what’s best for you.”-Grandpa to Chase

Message from author, Lacey Weatherford:

“No matter how hard life is, or how badly it is hurting—never, ever, give up! You don’t know what good things are waiting for you around the corner. If you give up now, you may miss out on the greatest chance of all. Chase your dreams, no matter how far out of reach they seem. Don’t stop until you catch them—just like Chase did.

Love,

Lacey

alexis

Follow on Bloglovin

 

For SPOILERS and more of my ranting…click down below.

  • SPOILERS DOWN BELOW! BEWARE!!!

  • Halfway into the book, Nikki comes back in a dramatic way! Ahh and then your head literally starts spinning!!!
  • So I was reading this series that was mostly a dream!? Are you serious!!!! Like, what the freak!? That made me mad!!!
  • But then it made me sooo sad and I understood, but ugh!!
  • I’m glad Nikki and Chase are back together, but after I finished the second book, I had accepted that Nikki was dead and I was happy with Chase moving on and being with Brittney. But now, at the end of book three, like…none of that was true! Its always been Nikki…like ugh! Why make me go through all of that? This book opened up my wound all over again! 😦

**A quote that I love:

“Plenty of my mornings still began with the ache of losing Nikki residing in my heart, only to be replaced with inexplicable joy when I remembered it wasnt true. But, just because it wasn’t true, didn’t mean I still didnt feel it. It didnt mean I ddidnt learn the lessons from what I’d gone throught. I wanted to hold tightly to those memories and use them to guide me in my future. I may have been lying in a bed unconscious for nine months, deteriorating on the outside; but I was changing on the inside and I would never take anything for granted again.”-Chase Walker

 

One thought on “Chased Dreams (Chasing Nikki #3) by Lacey Weatherford

  1. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer (2014) | Check My Books

Leave a Comment

