Contemporary / Contemporary Christian / Stephanie Perry Moore

Saved Race (Payton Skky, #3) by Stephanie Perry Moore

saved raceTITLE: Saved Race
AUTHOR: Stephanie Perry Moore
PUBLISHER: Lift Every Voice
RELEASE DATE: 1 January 2001
PAPERBACK: 160 pages
GENRE: Contemporary Christian Fiction
PRECEDED BY: Sober Faith
FOLLOWED BY: Sweetest Gift

SYNOPSIS: Loving everyone is tough. On the verge of graduation, Payton Skky encounters ethnic diversity several ways she never imagined. First, her ex-boyfriend Dakari is unjustly roughed up by a white police officer. Then her white teacher admits her fear of teaching in a mostly African-American school. Many of Payton’s friends are also suspicious of her bi-racial cousin. Payton struggles to figure out where these prejudices come from and find effective ways to overcome them while loving everybody as God commands.
(Source: Goodreads)

(4.5 stars)

(4.5 stars)

REVIEW:
Hey! It’s MLK Day and what better way to celebrate by posting a African American Christian Fiction novel review. 😛

This series is getting better with each book and the characters are seeming more realistic and round. I can see how Moore’s writing is progressing.

 

Theme:

  • racism
  • meaning of true love

Characters:
Payton→ Payton is having a really difficult time with racism throughout this novel. I think her character grew the most in this book compared to the first two. She still annoys me with the whole having-feelings-for-Dakari-situation though.

Pillar→ Pillar is attractive looking and catches the eyes of many boys when she is staying with her cousin Payton in North Carolina. She’s kind and she doesn’t see skin color like Payton and other people around her do. I think her character is mature for her age, but she does like flirting every now and then.

Style/Setting:
I really couldn’t put this book down; it was always on my mind. The first two books were good but they didn’t really grasp me where I felt I was craving to read it. No, no, this book had my interest like for real for real; and I loved it.

The imagery isn’t really there; that’s not really what is important and that’s okay to me this time. I was fine with that throughout the book. Saved Race is one of those books where you don’t need a description of the scenery; you can  just picture it yourself pretty clearly.

I loved the ending too! Out of books 1 through 3, book 3 is the best. I was so drawn into the story. It was great.

There are plenty of life lessons throughout this series but the cover’s quote pretty much sums up the agenda this book is trying to help us understand. This is a great teen Christian series. I really enjoyed it and I’m gong to have to buy this series so I can reread it some time. (I checked out these books at the library, haha).

Oh yeah, I love how at the beginning, before the title page, that The Negro National Anthem lyrics are displayed by the publishers.

Lesson Learned? Even though we are all different by race, sex, and have different beliefs, etc., we are all capable of being loved and getting along.

**Recommended

Rating:
Book Cover: .1
Character Development/Plot: 2.9 out of 3
Interest: 1 out of 1
Imagery: .5 out of 1
Total: 4.5 stars

alexis

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Comment

